The Structure of Likutei Amarim

The Tanya is made up of 5 volumes, as mentioned in a previous post. We will start our discussions on the most famous volume, Likutei Amarim, which means “collection of sayings”.

The subject matter of this volume can be broken down as follows:

Chapters 1-8                 The Spiritual Composition of the Jew

Chapters 9-17               The War Between the Souls

Chapters 18-25            Revealing the Hidden Love

Chapters 26-31            Fighting Depression and Negativity

Chapter 32                   Loving Your Fellow Jew

Chapters 33-34           Fighting Depression and Negativity (continued)

Chapters 35-37           Man’s Ultimate Purpose: A Dwelling Place for G-d

Chapters 38-40          Intent in Torah Study and Prayer

Chapters 41-50           Fear and Love

Chapters 51-53           Revealing G-d’s Presence in the World


So let’s begin…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s